Electric Upright Bass

Your weapon of choice
BluesBass
Gold Member

Electric Upright Bass

Post by BluesBass » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:48 am

Hey Guys,

Does anyone here play or had any experience with an electric upright bass?
Or does anyone know where I could possibly hire one for a couple of months?

I have never played an upright before and wouldn’t mind having a bit of play around on one before deciding if I should try and find some cash for one.
‘Entry level’ or second hand electric upright basses seem to start at a grand at least.

I’ve checked out Pete McGregor’s site, but he only seems to have acoustic uprights for hire and I’d prefer the electric upright for various reasons… space for storage being one of them.
I’ll drop him an email, but does anyone here have any advice or recommendations on where a total novice might be able to check these out?

Cheers
Last edited by BluesBass on Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dan

Re: Electric Upright Bass

Post by Dan » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:53 am

Dr Music in Takapuna had a Stagg Elec Upright for about $1000. Pretty sure its still there (dont think its on display, just ask about it).

BluesBass
Gold Member

Post by BluesBass » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:51 am

Dan wrote:Dr Music in Takapuna had a Stagg Elec Upright for about $1000. Pretty sure its still there (dont think its on display, just ask about it).
Thanks Dan.
Music Planet on Queen Street had something similar I seem to recall, but the point is I'd like to much around a bit if possible, before forking out a grand.

ash
Bronze Member

Post by ash » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:56 am

Pete McGregor does Steinberger electric upright basses. I'm sure I've seen them on his website and I think someone posted here about buying one from him recently.

I'm tempted to build one, but I know nothing about what a good one feels or sounds like.

BluesBass
Gold Member

Post by BluesBass » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:07 am