Learner Bass Warwick Rockbass vs Sterling SUB Series Ray4

Your weapon of choice
MarkO

Learner Bass Warwick Rockbass vs Sterling SUB Series Ray4

Post by MarkO » Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:52 pm

Hi - this is my first post and I appreciate that this is probably an impossible question to answer and is very subjective. I am an experienced musician however very new to the bass - it is an instrument that I have wanted to play for some time. I'm currently playing a real learner bass just to see whether it is for me or not. I am putting in around 1.5 hours practice a day and I am keen to move to a better bass that plays within my limits at the moment. The 2 that I have been looking at are the Warwick Rockbass Corvette Standard and the Sterling SUB Series Ray4. I could go either way based on play and feel however I am wondering if anyone out there has a view if one is definitely better than the other or not. I would appreciate any advise/thoughts - cheers

timi
Gold Member

Re: Learner Bass Warwick Rockbass vs Sterling SUB Series Ray

Post by timi » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:20 am

I'd get a pro setup on your current bass if you haven't already, you might find that keeps you happy for now.

Of those two I'm sure both are well build, they are cheap ranges of big brands that don't want a bad rep. You didn't mention tone, keep in mind Stingrays have a really particular sound (really bright and zingy). The Warwick would probably be more versatile sonically but you will have to get baggy pants, tribals and frosted tips to match it 8)

In this price range I'd look at the upper end of Squier but it's personal preference, I'm a boring Fender guy. Go with your instinct!

MarkO

Post by MarkO » Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:04 pm

Thanks that is useful - Ive never looked that flash in baggys so it might be the SUB! Cheers

pins
Gold Member
Bands / Groups: Naked Gun (Covers),still just filling in on bass after 26 years.
Butt Scratch (Bus Crash) originals band.

Post by pins » Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:38 pm