How do you practice?

DVD's, Books, Websites, Music Courses etc - Anything to help learn
greghr
Bronze Member

How do you practice?

Post by greghr » Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:10 pm

Hi Fellow bass players.
I've had a reasonably good look through the existing threads and not found anything specific to my question above. There is good information on 'What to practice' but I thought it might be fun to develop ideas about practice routines. It's always been something I've struggled with a bit whether on the bass or on my other instrument the tenor sax.

So how do we try to practice?

As I am a newbie to bass I try and practice the following routines. Firstly, I usually devote about 1 to 1 and a 1/2 hours per day to practice, as that is what I find I can manage, energy wise, and in relation to other things like work ( secondary school teacher). I can practice in the holidays and weekends more than I can during a working week. So that means that the progress I make is incremental. A real little bit at a time. As I am learning music primarily as a passion and personal spiritual journey, I am not pressured by 'working musician' considerations too much. I do need to play with others more and I try and seek out whatever opportunities I can find here in Gisborne. At present I mostly play with a woman who is a singer songwriter and I get 'arranged' by her to suit whatever songs she is developing which is great practice I find.

First principles:
I try and play something from the list below every day and usually that works.
I try and divide up my practice sessions to cover a range of skills.
I'm much more concentrated in practice in the morning than at night, unfortunately most of my practice happens in the evenings as I have other things I focus on in the mornings.
You have to be a bit obsessive/disciplined to practice regularly.