right cable?

Forum to discuss all other general bass accessories.
Post Reply
User avatar
Antz
Silver Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:43 pm
Bands / Groups: GENERATOR covers band
Location: Napier

right cable?

Post by Antz » Fri Oct 05, 2012 7:10 pm

have to ask, made a simple foot switch to turn on/off effects on amp used some old instrument cable that i had lying around works ok , but sometimes it stays on the effects side (if that makes sense) being reading up on ohms and stuff about bigger badder amps/bins and ever thought about if it was ok to use,or maybe is it the switch itself ?

User avatar
john
Gold Member
Posts: 2307
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: wellington

Re: right cable?

Post by john » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:04 am

The switch is what I would imagine being the problem here. What switch did you use?

User avatar
Antz
Silver Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:43 pm
Bands / Groups: GENERATOR covers band
Location: Napier

Re: right cable?

Post by Antz » Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:05 am

one of these from jaycar elec , it seems to correct itself if I pull the cable from the amp and back in again

http://www.jaycar.co.nz/productView.asp ... rm=KEYWORD

User avatar
john
Gold Member
Posts: 2307
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: wellington

Re: right cable?

Post by john » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:54 am

That because when you pull it out you are effectively switching it on/off.
I am even more inclined to think it is the switch now that I know what one you used.
I have gone through probably 5 of those black DPDT switches from Jaycar. I thought I was damaging them by over heating them with poor solder skills or something, then I realised they are just crap. I replaced all my switches with the blue 3pdt they sell and have not had a single problem.

Have you checked the lead by playing through it while wiggling the ends?

User avatar
Antz
Silver Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:43 pm
Bands / Groups: GENERATOR covers band
Location: Napier

Re: right cable?

Post by Antz » Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:47 pm

thanks mate will look more into it and if it is that switch will get the upgraded one :D

User avatar
john
Gold Member
Posts: 2307
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: wellington

Re: right cable?

Post by john » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:51 pm

Good luck. And with the 3pdt you could ad a LED

Post Reply