BYO: Build your own?

For anything related to customising basses. Tuners, Bridges, Pickups
Cory
Bronze Member

BYO: Build your own?

Post by Cory » Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:48 am

Has anyone out there tried building a bass from scratch? Or at least from mostly stock parts. I was thinking about having a go at it as a "project". But having absolutely no experience as a luthier I have no idea how to start. Anyone have any words of wisdom?

Jazzbass
Gold Member

Re: BYO: Build your own?

Post by Jazzbass » Thu Jul 12, 2007 2:05 pm

Yes, I've built several.

My first was around 1962 and I shaped the body from Matai, with a rimu neck and a rewarewa fingerboard. I bought the fretwire in a roll and handwound my own pickups using some 1/4" rod which I magnetised with an electromagnet coil I made and powered from a car battery. I cut the rod to about 3/4" length and made the former from some thick plastic sheet. Once I wound it (lost count of the turns), I potted it all in paraffin wax (surfboard wax actually). It was a bolt-on neck, based (very loosely) around a Fender shape. I found a mathematical equation for working out the fret placements in the public library and calculated them all. I was 14 years old.

Remembering that at that time bass amps were about 20-30W valve jobbies, it sounded OK, I guess.

The others were all different variations, such as a Vox semi-teardrop shape etc, but for those I bought the pups. I was also into building my own surfboards and for one bass, I glassed the body. Looked cool, sounded crap!

Would I do it again? Smeg - no way!! There's too many low cost basses which are perfectly playable around, some of which are cheaper than the cost of the parts. Was it fun? Sure.

Cory
Bronze Member

Post by Cory » Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:44 pm

Wow thats a little more extreme than I was planning. I was thinking more along the lines of getting a preshaped Pbass body and neck and working from there. How did the homemade pickups turn out?

Jazzbass
Gold Member