Compressors...

Effects pedals or devices to alter the sound of your bass
Willbot
Bronze Member

Compressors...

Post by Willbot » Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:56 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm looking at getting a compressor pedal. I want a bit more punch to my sound, and also have the switchable ability to level out peaks in my playing (when slapping etc), and level out/make more consistent other passages.

So far, I've seen three compressors that have caught my eye.

*3 Leaf Audio PWNZORI'm
*MXR M87 Bass compressor
*Redwitch Seven Sisters 'Grace' (pitched more at the electric guitar market, but worth a go maybe?)

The MXR seems to be the most adjustable of the three. While the PWNZOR and 'Grace' seem to be more straight forward (Grace being the simplest - 2 knobs). All of them have had decent reviews.

I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these pedals, or has any other recommendations? I should add that I'm not wanting to break the bank (I'm a student) and second hand is probably my first port of call. So reliability/durability is a definite influencing factor.

Cheers!
G&L USA L2000, Ashdown ABM Evo II C210T, Ashdown ABM Evo II 410H Cab

brando28

Re: Compressors...

Post by brando28 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:24 pm

I use the MXR Bass compressor and can recommend it. The compression meter is really handy.
I got it new, and shipped from the mad ape, for way less than it retails in New Zealand

Willbot
Bronze Member

Post by Willbot » Thu Apr 18, 2013 7:07 pm

Cheers, Brando

Had a look on the site... Quite a selection! I've read that the MXR doesn't really add any colour to your sound, that it's more of a 'clinical' compressor... Would you agree with this? What have your impressions been?

irvinz
Gold Member

Post by irvinz » Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:49 pm

for awesome reviews,

http://www.ovnilab.com

bass specific i have owned the barge concepts rc-2 which i loved, the diamond which i loved, and currently own a pwnzor. which i reckon is pretty awesome.